Subscribe / Unsubscribe Enewsletters | Login | Register

Pencil Banner

How to avoid WhatsApp viruses, scams and hoaxes

By Marie Black | Nov. 8, 2017
WhatsApp scams are increasingly common, and range from telling you that you'll be charged for the service to offering scam shopping vouchers and dodgy links that download malware. Here are some of the WhatsApp scams you should delete and forget. How to avoid WhatsApp viruses, scams and hoaxes.

It claims to allow you to delete messages after you've sent them, and simultanously send 100 pictures, among other things. It sounds great, but it's entirely made up. Click on the link in the invitation and you're more likely to end up with a malware infection. (See how to remove a virus from Android if you've already done so.)

WhatsApp virus - how to avoid WhatsApp virus

The latest WhatsApp scam isn't delivered by WhatsApp itself but through your email app on your Android phone or iPhone. It tells you that you have missed a WhatsApp call or have a WhatsApp voice message, which you should click on the link in the email to access. Rather than your message, you get a virus downloaded to your device.

Please don't be fooled. WhatsApp will never contact you outside the WhatsApp app itself, so if you see this then do not click the link and delete the message.

WhatsApp chain message hoaxes - Is WhatsApp closing down?

One WhatsApp hoax that regularly does the rounds is that which asks you to forward the message to 10 people or the service will close down.

WhatsApp has millions of users, and it really won't notice you sending 10 messages through the service. It is not about to close down, and this is very much a hoax. Also see: WhatsApp ban: what you should know

Another variation suggests there are too many WhatsApp users, and it will close your account if you don't start using it.

The chain message reads: Message from Jim Balsamic (CEO of Whatsapp). We have had an over usage of user names on WhatsApp Messenger. We are requesting all users to forward this message to their entire contact list.

"If you do not forward this message, we will take it as your account is invalid and it will be deleted within the next 48 hours. Please DO NOT ignore this message or WhatsApp will no longer recognise your activation."

If you don't act in time, WhatsApp will apparently charge you £25 to reactivate your account, which will be added to your phone bill.

Except it won't, because WhatsApp is now a free service. As it says on its official blog: "WhatsApp will no longer charge subscription fees. For many years, we've asked some people to pay a fee for using WhatsApp after their first year. As we've grown, we've found that this approach hasn't worked well. Many WhatsApp users don't have a debit or credit card number and they worried they'd lose access to their friends and family after their first year. So over the next several weeks, we'll remove fees from the different versions of our app and WhatsApp will no longer charge you for our service."

WhatsApp chain message hoaxes - Is WhatsApp going to start charging inactive users?

 

Previous Page  1  2  3  4  Next Page 

Sign up for CIO Asia eNewsletters.