Subscribe / Unsubscribe Enewsletters | Login | Register

Pencil Banner

CyberSecurity Malaysia chief appointed as global expert member of APAC alliance

AvantiKumar | July 15, 2016
Dr Amirudin Abdul Wahab has been confirmed as Deputy Director of APEC eCommerce Business Alliance.

Dr Amirudin, CEO Cybersecurity Malaysia 

Photo - Dr Amirudin Abdul Wahab, Chief Executive Officer, CyberSecurity Malaysia.


Dr. Amirudin Abdul Wahab, chief executive officer of national specialist agency CyberSecurity Malaysia has recently been appointed as one of the deputy directors of the 32 Global Expert Council Members of the Asia-Pacific Economic Cooperation E-Commerce Business Alliance (APEC ECBA).

Commenting on the appointment, CyberSecurity Malaysia's Dr Amirudin said, "Personally, this is a great honour for me to be elected as one of the deputy directors in such a reputable international cooperation. Indeed, this is a global recognition for CyberSecurity Malaysia's expertise in cyber security industry hence, upholds Malaysia's reputation in this competitive global arena."

The director is Ms Jana Carter, Senior Director of International Corporate Affairs from ​Walmart Stores Inc, USA.  Dr Amirudin's appointment was made during the 6th APEC ECBA Forum, which was held on June 29 to June 30 in Jinjiang, Fujian Province of China.
APEC ECBA was established during the 13th APEC Ministerial Meeting in October 2001. Its role is to expand eCommerce across private and public sectors in Asia-Pacific by reinforcing economic and technical cooperation between APEC members.

Located in Beijing, APEC ECBA's Secretariat will also plan and implement promotional activities for eCommerce and paperless trading among Alliance members as well as offer services to entrepreneurs in the Asia-Pacific region.

As a deputy director, Dr Amirudin will lead expert councils, manage reunion meetings and determine the objectives and mechanisms to establish cross border eCommerce before submitting these to an APEC Ministerial meeting.
Dr. Amirudin holds various positions at the national and international level. Currently, Dr. Amirudin is the vice-chair of OIC Science & Technology Committee, Board Member of Canadian-based POLCYB, Member of National e-Sovereignty Committee chaired by YAB Deputy Prime Minister of Malaysia, and a Permanent Member of the Malaysian National Standards Committee (MyNSC) among others. Formerly, he was the Chairman for World Trustmark Alliance (WTA) in 2014 - 2015 and he had received an award for the Most Outstanding ASEAN Chief Security Officer (CSO) in 2014.


Sign up for CIO Asia eNewsletters.