Subscribe / Unsubscribe Enewsletters | Login | Register

Pencil Banner

Singapore names new IT cabinet ministers

Ross O. Storey | May 19, 2011
A team of three MPs will be sworn in to take up responsibility for the ministry of information, communication and the arts.

Singapore's newly-appointed minister for information, communication and the arts, Yaacob Ibrahim.

Singapore has a new political team to guide and manage the nation-state's information technology sector, after a comprehensive re-shuffle of the Lion City cabinet in the wake of the national election.

Prime Minister Lee Hsien Loong announced yesterday that associate professor Yaacob Ibrahim will become the new minister for information, communications and the arts.

Yaacob is currently minister for the environment and water resources, and minister-in-charge of Muslim affairs. He is also a member of the faculty of the National University of Singapore, having won a teaching excellence award in 1994-95.

The former IT minister, Lui Tuck Yew, will become the new minister for transport and the second minister for foreign affairs.

Two ministers of state to assist

Assisting the new IT minister will be MG (NS) Chan Chun Sing, who will become the acting minister for community development, youth & sports, and minister of state, ministry of information, communication and the arts.

Grace Fu Hai Yien, has also been appointed as a new minister of state, for the ministry of information, communication and the arts and the ministry of the environment and water resources.

Prime minister Lee said that the new cabinet will be sworn in on Saturday, 21 May 2011 at the Istana.

In the comprehensive re-shuffle in the wake of the 7 May election, 11 of Singapore's 14 ministries will have a new minister in charge, nine current political appointment holders will leave the government, while seven new faces from amongst the re-elected MPs and new MPs will join the government.

New GIC and MAS chiefs

The Singapore Straits Times, reported that the prime minister also revealed, in a media conference yesterday, that he will be the new chairman of GIC, taking over the reins from minister mentor (MM) Lee Kuan Yew.

Finance minister Tharman Shanmugaratnam will be the new chairman of the monetary authority of singapore (MAS). Senior minister (SM) Goh Chok Tong is the current MAS chairman.

MM Lee and SM Goh have been appointed senior advisers of GIC and the MAS respectively, the paper said.


Sign up for CIO Asia eNewsletters.