Google, meanwhile, has confirmed to Webwereld that it does not recycle unused accounts. Users can delete their accounts, but this "won't free up your username. Once you delete your Gmail address, you won't be able to use that same username (email@example.com) in the future," Google says on its site.
On its part, Microsoft says: "We listen closely to the feedback we receive from customers, and are always evaluating how to ensure Outlook.com is the best email service available."
Sign up for CIO Asia eNewsletters.