Subscribe / Unsubscribe Enewsletters | Login | Register

Pencil Banner

Microsoft makes final, aggressive Windows 10 upgrade push

Gregg Keizer | May 17, 2016
Wraps up 'phased approach' as it switches upgrade to Recommended; interprets closing the notification as upgrade approval.

But Microsoft's interpretation of clicking the X is contrary to decades of practice in windowed user interfaces (UIs) and normal user expectations: To users, shutting a window by clicking the X tells the OS to remove the notification or application frame without expressing an opinion, selecting an option or calling up an operation.

Instead, Microsoft equates closing the window with approving the scheduled upgrade.

Microsoft has applied some unusual stratagems in its efforts to get customers to upgrade to Windows 10, but this behavior is among its most aggressive simply because it is deceptive in the context of normal Windows UI behavior.

In fact, it's very likely that many of the accounts -- and they have been widespread -- that the proffered Windows 10 upgrade began without user approval can be traced to this strange interpretation by Microsoft. Thinking that by clicking the X they were rejecting the notification, or at least ignoring it, users instead were actually authorizing the upgrade.

When the upgrade began later, they professed they had not approved it, not remembering an explicit affirmation, when in reality they had -- under Microsoft's rules -- given the green light.

The free Windows 10 upgrade offer is to expire on July 29.

Windows 10 and the x
Clicking the 'X' in the upper right not only closes this upgrade schedule notice -- as users would expect -- but also approves the upgrade.

 

Previous Page  1  2 

Sign up for CIO Asia eNewsletters.