[For more information on this, read, "Facebook Timeline Scams Prey on Wishful Thinking."]
Facebook Timeline and the New Apps
Along with Facebook's announcement of Timeline in September, it also introduced a "new class of apps" that go hand-in-hand with Timeline. Last week, Facebook officially launched more than 60 of these new applications.
While Facebook hopes that these new apps will keep you on its site longer, you can expect another change, too: a lot more noise in your Ticker and News Feed,as well as an influx of over-sharing. To avoid this, there are a few things you can do.
Choose your settings before you download. Below the app summary information when you first choose to download an app is an option: "Who can see activity from this app on Facebook." How you've set your default privacy settings--either public, friends or a custom setting--that will determine the automatic setting for all your applications, unless you change it.
If you're interested in using an application but don't want your activity broadcast to your friends' News Feeds and Tickers, choose the "Only Me" option. While your activity will appear on your Timeline, no one else will be able to see it.
Adjust settings after downloading. If you're not sure what your app preferences are or you want to adjust them, you can review them one by one from within your Privacy Settings page.
From the drop-down menu in the top-right of your screen, select "Privacy Settings" then choose "Edit Settings" next to "Apps and Websites." On the apps privacy page, click "Edit Settings" next to "Apps you use"--this will show you all the apps that you have downloaded, and the privacy and permissions associated with them.
Here, you can remove the app if you no longer want it connected to your account. You can also preview what permissions the app has and remove certain ones (some are mandatory, which you cannot remove). The last option, "App activity privacy" will tell you who can see posts and activity from this app. If you don't want Facebook to share your activity, change this option to "Only Me."
Know how your friends share your activity. Your friends and other people you share information with can also share your activity with apps they use.
To prevent your friends from sharing your app activity with others on Facebook, go to "Privacy Settings," choose "Edit Settings" next to "Apps and Websites" then "How people bring your info to apps they use." Here, make sure the box next to "My app activity" is unchecked.
Sign up for CIO Asia eNewsletters.