Subscribe / Unsubscribe Enewsletters | Login | Register

Pencil Banner

Your complete guide to Facebook Timeline

Kristin Burnham | Jan. 26, 2012
If you don't switch to Timeline on your own, Facebook will do so for you within "the next few weeks."

Limit the posts by others on your Timeline. Another way to hide past posts is to limit specific people or lists of people from viewing what others have posted to your wall. To do this, go to your Privacy Settings page, then select "Edit Settings" next to "How You Connect." Select the drop-down menu next to the last item--"Who can see posts by others on your timeline?" and choose "Custom."

In the box under "Hide this from," type the names of the people or the lists that you want to exclude from viewing posts from others on your wall--for example those on your Limited Profile list. Then click Save Changes.

Use "Activity Log" to edit posts manually. On your Timeline, click the "Activity Log" button that appears under your Cover Photo (the large landscape picture). From here, you can use the drop-down menu in the top-right that says "All" to drill down to every type of post or event that has appeared on your wall.

From this view, you can see who currently can see a particular item by clicking on the gear icon next to the post. You can also click the circle icon next to that to either "star" it on Timeline, hide it from Timeline, delete the post entirely or change the date.

[For more information on Timeline privacy, read, "Facebook's New Timeline: Important Privacy Settings to Adjust Now."]

Facebook Timeline: Beware of Scams

If you're not a fan of Facebook's new Timeline, you're not alone. In a CIO.com poll of more than 800 people, 88 percent responded that they dislike the new profile design. Unfortunately for them--and contrary to Facebook Pages and Groups popping up--there's no hitting the rewind button to revert to the old profile.

These pages, which you can find easily by searching Facebook for the keyword "Timeline," have attracted tens of thousands of people. They are generally entitled "Deactivate Facebook Timeline on your Profile" or "Deactivate Your FB Timeline" and are found under app, public figure, community, cause, website and organization categories.

They also have a number of characteristics in common: Most request that you "Like" its page before it reveals how to receive your old profile design, then it instructs you to click a cluster of "Like" buttons and a "Share" button; select a state or country; and choose friends to invite to the application or group.

Security experts suggest that you steer clear of these bogus pages. Generally, Facebook's official Facebook page and its official security page are two good resources to check if you're unsure about whether or not a page or meme is legitimate. On these pages, Facebook will post information about new security features, tips and rumors.

 

Previous Page  1  2  3  4  Next Page 

Sign up for CIO Asia eNewsletters.