Subscribe / Unsubscribe Enewsletters | Login | Register

Pencil Banner

Want to remove Facebook Timeline now? Don't. It's an attack.

Anushkar Mohinani | March 14, 2012
Symantec has observed a phishing site recommending a fake application that allegedly removes the Timeline profile for Facebook users.

Symantec released a report highlighting the popularity of Facebook as a platform for cyber criminals. The cyber security firm recently observed a phishing site recommending a fake application that allegedly removes “Timeline” profile for Facebook users.

According to a Symantec blog post, the phishing site, hosted by a free Web hosting site, displays a Facebook Timeline promotion video from YouTube, with the claim 'Remove Timeline Now'.

The phishing site says users will  have their Timeline removed from their Facebook profile and get back their old profile page after they enter their login credentials. It also says users’ credentials are protected by an anti-virus product with the logo of the anti-virus brand placed below the login form.

If users fall victim to the phishing site by entering their login credentials, phishers can successfully steal their information for identity theft purposes, warned Symantec.

 

Sign up for CIO Asia eNewsletters.