The final option is Erase Mac. As you might expect, this feature lets you completely erase--securely--all data and settings from your Mac. It also sets a four-digit passcode that lets you regain access to your Mac if you ever recover it. You should use the Erase Mac option only as a last resort. (And it's one of many good reasons to have a current backup of your Mac.)
You'll receive an email sent to the address on file for your Apple ID when you perform any of these actions.
If the service can't locate your Mac, you still have the option of playing a sound, remotely locking the computer, or remotely erasing it, but these actions won't take effect until the Mac connects to the Internet. To receive an email notification when your Mac does come online again, select the Notify me when found checkbox.
As useful and convenient as Find My Mac is, it does come with a caveat: Should a malicious party compromise your iCloud account, they could remotely wipe your Mac, as happened to Wired's Mat Honan. So if you do enable this feature, make sure that your iCloud account has a strong password and, for best results, enable Apple's two-step authentication.
Sign up for CIO Asia eNewsletters.