Subscribe / Unsubscribe Enewsletters | Login | Register

Pencil Banner

4 Facebook timeline settings to revisit

Kristin Burnham | Aug. 10, 2012
If you are one of the many Facebook users who have resisted the switch to Timeline, your days with the old format are numbered: Reports say that Facebook will begin rolling out Timeline to all members by the fall.

On this page you can elect to receive a summary email detailing all important updates, or you can choose to be emailed only when select actions occur. For the former, check the box on the top under Email Frequency.

 

Your Notifications page is broken into two sections: recent notifications and all notifications. Recent notifications will show you the latest actions that involve you, such as who has liked a photo of you, who has commented on a post and who has written on your timeline. You'll also notice an envelope next to each action: If the envelope is greyed out, you don't receive an email notification for this action. If the envelope is blue, you do.

The "all notifications" section is where you can edit the notifications you receive. Click on the options to display a drop-down menu, then add or change actions you want Facebook to notify you of via email. These include when someone sends you a message, writes on your wall, pokes you, tags you and more.

4. Delete Apps You Don't Use

Soon after Facebook unveiled Timeline, it also introduced a bevy of new apps and games just for Timeline users. You've likely seen activity from these new apps broadcast in your news feed and ticker when people read a story on Yahoo or The Washington Post's social reader, for example.

If you aren't sure whether you've subscribed to any of these apps--or whether your activity is being broadcast to your Facebook friends--take some time to review your settings, which you can find on your Privacy Settings page.

From the drop-down menu in the top-right of your screen, select Privacy Settings then choose Edit Settings next to Apps and Websites. On the apps privacy page, click Edit Settings next to "Apps you use"--this will show you all the apps that you have downloaded, and the privacy and permissions associated with them.

Here, you can remove the app if you no longer want it connected to your account. You can also preview what permissions the app has and remove certain ones (some are mandatory, which you cannot remove).

 

The last option, "App activity privacy" will tell you who can see posts and activity from this app. If you don't want Facebook to share your activity, change this option to Only Me.

 

Previous Page  1  2 

Sign up for CIO Asia eNewsletters.