Subscribe / Unsubscribe Enewsletters | Login | Register

Pencil Banner

British team takes home Tata Communications’ F1 Connectivity Innovation Prize

Nurdianah Md Nur | Dec. 22, 2014
The team submitted a solution that enables the cataloguing of 60,000 hours of F1 Management’s digital archive while improving the fan experience.

Tata Communications (Tata) has awarded a four-man British team its inaugural Formula One (F1) Connectivity Innovation Prize.

The team — consisting of Jody Allen, Tom Williams, Chris Randall and Chris Belmore — submitted a user-centric solution that enables 60,000 hours of footage in Formula One Management's digital archive to be catalogued in a fun way. Their idea won them a cash prize of US$50,000 as well as two VIP passes to next year's F1 Grand Prix De Monaco, as guests of Tata Communications.

Using the concept of a crowd sourced commentary competition, the team suggested that fans would be given access to the archive and are encouraged to submit their 'greatest moments' compilation each week. Fans could search through the archive, which has already been tagged with baseline metadata, to explore their desired race and use the simple editing interface to clip their favourite moments. The fan community would then vote on the winning clips and the winners could receive VIP prizes.

According to the team leader of the winning group Jody Allen, this user-centric approach empowers F1 viewers to catalogue the digital archive, while adding a new dimension to the fan experience. "This allows us to build a fluid and dynamic set of linkages between everyone's personal views of the sport [instead of] a rigid and structured database."

Commenting on the winning idea, 2014 F1 world champion Lewis Hamilton said that the solution stood out amongst the other entries as it understood how F1 "fans think and act, and how the sport can be developed to connect with fans on the race tracks and at home."

The F1 Connectivity Innovation Prize is a global competition that is launched by Tata, F1 Management, and Mercedes AMG Petronas F1 Team. The judges included Hamilton; F1 Commentator Martin Brundle; Mercedes F1's technical executive director Paddy Lowe; F1 management CTO John Morrison; Tata's managing director of F1 business Mehul Kapadia; Tata's CMO and CEO of Nextgen business Julie Woods-Moss; and Tata's CTO and president John Hayduk. 


Sign up for CIO Asia eNewsletters.