Subscribe / Unsubscribe Enewsletters | Login | Register

Pencil Banner

7 Salesforce certifications that will advance your career

Sharon Florentine | April 10, 2017
Salesforce certifications are a great way for you to prove your competencies in one of the hottest skills out there. breaks down seven of the most valuable Salesforce certifications so you can choose which one's right for you.

To pass the exam, you'll need to achieve the following:

  • Leverage the advanced administration capabilities of Salesforce.
  • Optimize and extend Sales Cloud and Service Cloud applications.
  • Design advanced reports, dashboards, and business process automation.

Exam stats:

  • 63 multiple-choice questions
  • 90 minutes allotted to complete the exam
  • 65 perent is the passing score
  • Registration fee is $200
  • Retake fee is $100

Prerequisite: Current status as a Salesforce Certified Administrator; and Salesforce recommends completing the Administration Essentials for Experienced Admins (ADM-211) course in advance.


2. Application builders

This certification is for Salesforce professionals who design, build and implement custom applications on the Salesforce platform. This certification requires a more programming- and engineering-minded skillset than the Certified Administrator track.


Salesforce Certified Platform Application Builder

The Salesforce Certified Platform App Builder credential requires candidates to prove they have the skills and knowledge to design, build and implement custom applications on the platform. This skillset involves extensive knowledge of the declarative development and customization functions available on the platform, according to Salesforce.

To pass the exam, you need to know how to do the following:

  • Design the data model, user interface, business logic and security for custom applications
  • Customize applications for mobile use
  • Design reports and dashboards
  • Deploy custom applications

Exam stats:

  • 60 multiple-choice questions
  • 90 minutes to complete the exam
  • 65 percent is the passing score
  • Registration fee is $200
  • Retake fee is $100

No prerequisites are required, however, Salesforce recommends completing the Declarative Development for Platform App Builders (DEV402) course in advance.


3. Architects

Salesforce-certified architect credentials are comprised of three tiers of certification: Architecture Designers, Doman Architects and Technical Architects.

Architecture Designers are certified as either Application architects or System architects. Domain Architects are certified based on their knowledge and expertise in one or multiple domain specializations, each of which has its own exam. The available domain specializations are: Data Architecture and Management; Development Lifecycle and Deployment Designer; Identity and Access Management Designer; Integration Architecture Designer; Mobile Solutions Architecture Designer; Sharing and Visibility Designer. Salesforce Certified Technical Architects demonstrate their knowledge, skills, and capabilities across all available domains.


4. The Salesforce Certified Application Architect

This certification requires candidates to have deep understanding of native Salesforce features and functionality, as well as the ability to model a role hierarchy, data model, and appropriate sharing mechanisms, according to Salesforce.

There are several prerequisites for this certification, including achieving certain domain certifications. Each domain specialization certification has its own associated exam. The required specializations for becoming a Salesforce Certified Application Architect are the following:


Previous Page  1  2  3  4  Next Page 

Sign up for CIO Asia eNewsletters.