Subscribe / Unsubscribe Enewsletters | Login | Register

Pencil Banner

TeSA's Governing Council members unveiled

Nurdianah Md Nur | June 1, 2016
The Governing Council and sector committees for the different sectors will be tasked to coordinate the development of TeSA.

The Minister for Communications and Information Dr Yaacob Ibrahim has identified the members of the TechSkills Accelerator's (TeSA) Governing Council and chairpersons of various sector committees.

The announcement was made at the opening of the Infocomm Media Business Exchange 2016 (IMBX) at Sands Expo and Convention Centre, Singapore, earlier today(31 May 2016).

TeSA is an integrated approach to ICT skills acquisition and practitioner training, both in core ICT and sector-specific areas, with the aim of improving job placement outcomes.

The Governing Council and sector committees for the different sectors will be tasked to coordinate the development of TeSA.

"The governing council and sector committees of TeSA will review and progress in building infocomm capabilities, and provide guidance to our plans to build a future-ready workforce," said Minister Yaacob.

Gabriel Lim, CE-designate of the Infocomm Media Development Authority (IMDA) and Co-Managing Director of IDA, will be leading the council.

Representing the ICT industry, members include Shirley Wong, Chairman of Singapore IT Federation; Howie Lau, President, Singapore Computer Society; and Alvin Ong, President, IT Management Association.

To represent the hirers in the economy, the council will include Robert Yap Min Choy, Deputy Honorary Secretary, Singapore National Employers Federation.

TeSA will also see government representation from Ng Cher Pong, CEO, Workforce Development Authority of Singapore; Augustin Lee, Deputy Secretary, Ministry of Manpower; and Jacqueline Poh, CE-designate, Government Technology Agency.

According to IDA, the Governing Council will be further supported by hirers of tech manpower in sector committees, starting with Financial Services, Healthcare and ICT. They will all work collaboratively with the aim of creating job placement outcomes for working professionals. The chairs and co-chairs of these three sector committees are also members of the Governing Council.

They are:

  • For Finance: Sopnendu Mohanty, Chief Fintech Officer of MAS, and Susan Hwee, the Managing Director and Head of Group Technology and Operations, at UOB, the current bank chairing the Association of Banks in Singapore.
  • For Healthcare: Dr Chong Yoke Sin, CEO of Integrated Health Information Systems or IHIS, the single and largest employer of ICT professionals in the public healthcare sector.
  • For ICT: Khoong Hock Yun, Assistant CEO of IDA, and the Singapore IT Federation; as well as Lim Kang Song and Benjamin Mah, both leading the Talent and Capabilities Committee within the Singapore IT Federation.


Sign up for CIO Asia eNewsletters.