Subscribe / Unsubscribe Enewsletters | Login | Register

Pencil Banner

Singapore Computer Society announces IT leader award winners

Nurdianah Md Nur | March 9, 2016
The award celebrates the significant achievements and contributions of seven outstanding individuals in Singapore’s infocomm and digital media industries.

SCS winners
From left to right - Girish Kumar, Royston Tay, Chong Chee Wah, Jessica Tan, Dr. Yaacob Ibrahim, Raniel Lee, Foong Sew Bun and Howie Lau at the 20th IT Leader Awards 2016.

The Singapore Computer Society (SCS) recently announced the seven winners of the 20th annual IT Leader Awards at the organisation's gala dinner held at the Shangri-La hotel.

Graced by Dr Yaacob Ibrahim, Minister for Communications and Information, the event saw the gathering of more than 1,000 infocomm professionals and representatives from across government and private sectors.

 Established in 1997, the awards celebrate the significant achievements and contributions of outstanding individuals in Singapore's infocomm and digital media industries. The winners will serve as inspirations and role models for Singapore's younger generation of IT professionals.  

"Singapore Computer Society's IT Leader Awards celebrate the Singapore talent that has shaped these important industries for the country, and acknowledge the new generation of Singapore's IT leaders who will shape the direction of Singapore's tech innovation and smart nation future," said Howie Lau, President, Singapore Computer Society.

"With these awards, we are recognising our industry VIPs as well as our exciting young talent. As the baton of IT and Infocomm innovation is passed onto our new generations, it is vital that we acknowledge our achievements in these industries, and continue to build support and excitement for IT in Singapore," he added.

The winners are as follows:

  • IT Leader of the Year: Jessica Tan, Managing Director of Microsoft Singapore.
  • Hall of Fame:  Robert Chew, Angel investor and Managing Partner at Stream Global and iGlobe Partners.
  • Professional of the Year: Foong Sew Bun,   IBM Distinguished Engineer, Lead Cloud Advisor (ASEAN, Korea, Japan) at IBM Cloud. 
  • Entrepreneur of the Year: Chong Chee Wah, Founder and Chief Executive Officer (CEO) of TreeBox Solutions. 
  • Entrepreneur of the Year: Royston Tay, Vice President, General Manager of Messaging at Zendesk. 
  • IT Youth: Girish Kumar, who developed "RevUP", a technology that automatically generates quiz questions for students and teachers by leveraging on cutting edge AI algorithms; and Raniel Lee, who launched job matching site Jobook Singapore.


Sign up for CIO Asia eNewsletters.